Slow Saturday Salsa

I know it’s only Wednesday, that infamous hump dropped in the middle of the week, but I’m already dreaming about weekend plans. With the emotional ups and downs of the typical post-grad life in addition to feeling under the weather (Swimmer’s ear. Yuck.), I am more than ready for a couple days to romp around with friends, take naps and crochet away.

But even though this week has knocked me out a little bit, I’m making it through thanks to a day of resting. You see, my dear roommate was out of town for the entire weekend leaving me on my own for a couple of days. What to do with a completely open, unencumbered Saturday? Take it slow, my dear. Take it slow.

I soaked up all the rest I could get and even read the entire issue — sans one piece on golf — of Garden & Gun. I realized I should take a break from lovely stories about bourbon, southern artists and quail to make lunch. Since my green-thumbed father and a generous editor had handed over some not-too-spicy Anaheim peppers and a tomato or two, I went for a low-key, slow-paced meal. So I took a try at making my own salsa for my leisurely afternoon.

SLOW SATURDAY SALSA

-3 or 4 Anaheim peppers

-1 or two tomatoes

-About a quarter of a huge grocery store onion

-Fresh cilantro

-Lime

Chop peppers, tomatoes, onion and cilantro into chunks. Dump all those veggies and herbs into a food processor. Squeeze a generous amount of lime juice into the mix. Process the dickens out of it until you get a nice salsa-y texture.

Serve with chips (or pretzel crisps in my case) and preferably a few fingers of rum. Sit back and enjoy your light, care-free Saturday lunch in the sun.

 

I know it was exactly what I needed this week, and I’d suggest it to anyone out there. Just another quick tip: If you jump in swimming pool after savoring you light lunch, you might want to put a drop or two of alcohol in each ear when you jump out. Swimmer’s ear is not your friend, folks.

How do you prepare yourself on the weekends when a week of work (or job hunting!) looms ahead of  you? I’d really love to know.

Til then!

One thought on “Slow Saturday Salsa

  1. Looks good Whit, not sure if I can return a message to you at Word Press or if it goes to your personal pc.
    I remember well what swimmer’s ear is about, if we didn’t put in correct chemicals, it happened

Leave a Reply

