Good Reads for Friendly Farmers

Barely made my own Monday deadline! Bad journalist. But what can you do when swimmer’s ear knocks you down for a day? Ear pain is some of the worst. And how am I healing? Why, by watching the swimming portion of the Olympics, of course. I just love that Missy Franklin!

In non-Olympics news, here are some more good reads I found. This batch is for all the future friendly farmers out there! Read on for some local food love.

1. A youngster like myself quickly tires of the fast-paced concrete jungle life and moves to farm in Georgia. He tells his story here. What a dream for anyone who wants work that takes him under the sun and traps dirt under her fingernails.

2. For the more practical-minded someday farmers this New York Times article lays out some of the business details of small local farms in Seattle.

3. Here’s some info about both pro-local and anti-local agriculture, with quite a few mentions of one of my most recent favorite authors, Michael Pollan. I feel like I could talk about what I learned from his book The Omnivore’s Dilemma for days.

4. A seemingly never ending bladder infection — just another reason to eat chickens treated like real chickens. That means they can roam around, eat what they find and not be fed medicine for sickness they don’t have.

5. If you’re interested in all this eat local and farm talk, here is a roundup of places to find internships, jobs, training and advice.

6. I’ll leave you with a snarky tidbit from The Onion about neighbors wishing that a chain would destroy a local gem. Although this read might have a tiny bit of ugly truth in it (“I’d like to be able to buy a cappuccino and not have to worry about whether I’m being grateful enough for all the hard work they obvi­ously put into it”), it still leaves me yearning for a warm pastry made with careful, loving hands.

Next Monday I’ll bring some more neat reads for you! Expect a topic I’m quickly becoming familiar with: the job hunt.

Til then!

Leave a Reply

