Stop the talk

The cold snap returns. The little hint of sunshine and hope of basking in warmth is gone for those of us here in West Tennessee. The weather is such a tease around here this time of year.

However, seeking refuge from the return of that old bitter wind led me to an introspective chat with a dear friend that might just not have happened if we were out frolicking and soaking up the joys of a fresh spring day.

Just what did we talk about as we enjoyed our short and not quite nutritious lunch huddled by the window in one of the few spots of sunshine on campus? Bad habits, particularly procrastination. I must say, the cold certainly does bring out the critic in some of us.

While this isn’t the most uplifting of subjects, it was beyond necessary. You see, I do a lot of talk. I talk about to-do lists, should-do lists, work that has not yet been done. Yet I don’t actually complete the tasks I am continually chatting about until the due date nears. You could say I’m practicing for my career in journalism, right?

It is strange because I have never defined myself as a procrastinator. I very much like getting things done. But with a wise, sharp word from a friend I realized the error of my ways. I talk too much talk. So now I have made a vow to shut my mouth and stop complaints and worries before they exit in the form of words. It’s time to get my nose back in the books (and the internship applications. Dear me! As much as I yearn for summer, it’s nearing ever so quickly.)

I’ll close with an encouragement for all you procrastinating women (sorry, guys) out there, stray from the one true source of wisdom, the Word.

“She sets about her work vigorously; her arms are strong for her tasks. She sees that her trading is profitable, and her lamp does not go out at night… She watches over the affairs of her household and does not eat the bread of idleness. Her children arise and call her blessed; her husband also, and he praises her: ‘Many women do noble things, but you surpass them all.'” -Proverbs 31: 17-18, 27-29

‘Til then!

(PS: The photo is from a cold trip I took to Nashville. I just love the smell of old books and cramped, cozy bookstores. If only the smell made them easier to digest!)

Leave a Reply

